So What Happened?

Public domain image, royalty free stock photo from www.public-domain-image.comIt seemed that things were going swimmingly in late January.  We had just received a glowing write up on the cover the New York Times Wednesday food section, (here’s the piece, http://bit.ly/VSYuhe).  Then one Friday, I felt a slight twinge in my right knee.  With a stretch of twelve hour workdays ahead of me I resorted to my cane again.  It was no help.  Within days, both knees were balky and I spent all of February and all of March so far, wandering around assisted by a cane.

It’s depressing, yes, but more importantly, it’s exhausting.  I get home from eight hours of retail and I only have energy to eat and slink off into bed.  No time for blogging.

This post doesn’t mark the end of that phase; it’s hard to rehab knee issues by being on your feet eight to ten hours a day.  I woke up today and found I couldn’t bend my left knee more than say 135 degrees.  However, this series of posts does mark a renewed commitment to this space.  It’s part of me and part I hope not to neglect in the future.

About jmartin437

I've worked in and around the world of high end cheese for 27 years. I've been everything from a department manager who hired and fired and trained staffs to a weekend warrior who shows up ties on an apron the middle of a rush and talks to customers and cleans up the place. I enjoy it all, and I especially like my current situation conducting informal seminars about cheese at area bars and in class at the 92nd St. Y. The current schedule is always up at thejoyofcheese.blogspot.com. In addition I conduct private events that are perfect to lead off birthday parties for foodies and sommeliers and also they make great entertainment for corporate team building events and associates meetings at law firms. In addition, I've been a freelance journalist for 27 years. Currently my profiles of leading musicians and filmmakers appear in the Wall Street Journal and www.theroot.com. I also wrote about sports for the Root, and for five loooong years, which included the entirety of the Isiah Thomas Knicks era, I wrote about the NBA for the New York Sun. I enjoyed writing about basketball so much that I now do it here at rotations for free.
This entry was posted in beer, cheese, culinary, food, foodie, Fromage of the Day FoD, thoughts and musings, Upcoming Events, whiskey, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to So What Happened?

  1. Sorry to hear your troubles. No one ever prepares you for the troubles your body will give you as you age. It definitely impacts the quality of your life. Hopefully, things will improve and it won’t get you down.

  2. Hope you are feeling better Martin- I love your cheese prose and it’s inspiring my own shop opening this year.

  3. jmartin437 says:

    Thanks for the bon mots! Rest has proven most helpful and after I get my newest hire up to speed, I hope to take a few additional days off to rest and resolve these issues once and for all.

Leave a Reply

