About Andy

AndyEven before we opened Gastronomie 491 in March 2012, I wanted to work with Andy Besch, the owner of West Side Wines, the shop just a few doors down from our  soon to open, market/café hybrid.  It seems almost too intuitive, Gastronomie was set to have a great cheese counter and well cheese and wine are a natural, right?  But my connection to his shop went deeper than that.  I knew from the first time I went in that West Side Wines wasn’t like the other nearby wine shops.  The other shops look a little too much like wine supermarkets, perfectly as happy to sell you a bottle of Yellow Tail Chardonnay as they are a bottle of Gevrey Chambertin as if the only difference was price.  Andy’s shop was different.  They don’t carry Yellow Tail and there’s a clear passion for wine that you feel from the moment you walk through the door.  In that regard, we were kindred spirits.  We don’t sell the cheese equivalents simple, well distributed wine, and I hope our passion is obvious too.

So after Gastronomie got past the usual growing pains, I suggested collaborating on an event with Andy and he immediately agreed.  Then I got worry.  Just because we share a philosophy about our primary items doesn’t mean we’ll work well together as co-instructors.  For instance, there’s a wine instructor whose demeanor I despised, yet we were great together in front of a class.  Would the opposite effect happen in front of our class?  It turns out I needn’t worried.  Andy and I have contrasting styles, I’m eager to get in everyone’s face (or at least dominate their attention span) with information about cheese in general and in particular about the cheeses we’re serving.  Andy, on the other hand, is low key.  He draws you in with his vast knowledge, teasing out little nuggets that click hours or even days later about the rudiments of a wine’s composition, the personality of its maker, the idiosyncrasies of its terroir or how our experience of a particular wine has changed over the years.

Our first tasting last autumn was such a big success that we had to do it again in the winter.  Our second tasting also worked wonderfully.  So here we are again, Tuesday October 8 at 7 at Gastronomie 491, 491 Columbus Avenue (between 83rd and 84th), to see if we can make it three in a row.  This time, there is no doubt.  We’ll pair six great wines with six amazing cheeses.  It’s only $20.  Tickets are available via this link, http://www.brownpapertickets.com/event/476092

About jmartin437

I've worked in and around the world of high end cheese for 27 years. I've been everything from a department manager who hired and fired and trained staffs to a weekend warrior who shows up ties on an apron the middle of a rush and talks to customers and cleans up the place. I enjoy it all, and I especially like my current situation conducting informal seminars about cheese at area bars and in class at the 92nd St. Y. The current schedule is always up at thejoyofcheese.blogspot.com. In addition I conduct private events that are perfect to lead off birthday parties for foodies and sommeliers and also they make great entertainment for corporate team building events and associates meetings at law firms. In addition, I've been a freelance journalist for 27 years. Currently my profiles of leading musicians and filmmakers appear in the Wall Street Journal and www.theroot.com. I also wrote about sports for the Root, and for five loooong years, which included the entirety of the Isiah Thomas Knicks era, I wrote about the NBA for the New York Sun. I enjoyed writing about basketball so much that I now do it here at rotations for free.
This entry was posted in beer, cheese, culinary, food, foodie, gourmet, news, wine. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

